Home

Woohoo!  I have been blogging for about a month now.  I weighed in today at 153.8 pounds, down 10 pounds from when I started dieting.  On a related note, my cat weighed in at today at 9.3 pounds, down 3 pounds from from when I started her on a diet.

So, with all this success, I figured I would share some of the ways I have changed my lifestyle.  First, I tried to cut my sugar intake to 30 grams of added sugar a day.  It was nearly impossible!  My breakfast cereals alone had between 10 and 15 grams in one serving, and I was already eating the “healthy” cereals.  In order to find ways to cut down the amount of sugar I was eating, I started eating more whole foods.

For those of you that don’t know, whole foods are foods that are complete without packaging.  Examples are fruits and vegetables (even frozen counts) as well as meat products such as chicken breasts (chicken nuggets wouldn’t count).  This eliminated just about all of the dairy from my diet.

CheeseIt was hard.  Most people who know me know that I have had a cheese problem since I was in pre-school.  I wasn’t lactose intolerant, but the exact opposite.  I would sit and eat a pound of cheese without even thinking about it.  My parents had been telling me for years that this would be a problem for me later in life, but I never noticed one, so I kept on eating.  When I moved into my apartment after college, there was always a drawer in my fridge dedicated to cheese.  It was expensive, unhealthy, and overall bad (yet tasty).

I was fortunate enough to have a few weeks away from my unholy cheese collection recently, when I was travelling to my parent’s house for a visit.  They don’t have a cheese drawer, and it made it easier for me to slowly stop eating dairy during the two weeks I was there.

I continued doing more research about ways to eat healthy, and found that a vegan diet might help with my health issues and my desire to lose weight.  At this point the only things to cut out were eggs and meat, so it went fairly easy.

So, I’m a vegan now.  I’m doing it for my health, not because I think animals are people.  I will still continue to use honey, even though it is an animal product,  and I will continue to purchase leather purses at the thrift store (those things are damn expensive when new!)

Things that I have noticed about my body since the switch:

More energy

Lost weight (5 of the 10 lbs I lost were after the switch)

Ability to eat foods I haven’t been able to in a long time because of my Crohn’s (I ate corn on the cob this week for the first time in about 3 years and didn’t get sick!)

Zero Crohn’s attacks

Never getting that icky too-full feeling

Overall, I think this is a good thing, and I’m going to stick with it.  I have been hesitant to tell people because of the stigma associated with veganism.  I want to be clear that I am not an eco-terrorist.  I just want to be healthy.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “No More Cheese

Leave a Reply

